Semana 15:Do you believe in Miracles??‏

Ola Familia e Amigos!

 Como estao? This week was one of my favorites so far on my mission. I have never seen so many miracles. I wish I could tell you all the miracles I see but this letter would never end so I will just share with you two today. Never think street contacting is useless, because we have seen countless miracles just from street contacting.
Sister Fortunato and I were just leaving our apartment to go to a lesson and as we were walking down the street of our apartment, we stopped a man walking his dog to take out the trash and as we started talking to him and told him we were missionaries, he interrupted us immediately and said “Wait, you are missionaries for the church?” and we respond, “Yes! We are missionaries of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints”, and he said “I was just praying before I took of my trash, that God would send me some help spiritually and then he sent me two missionaries. This is not a coincidence.” HOW INCREDIBLE. Heavenly Father is absolutely amazing. There is no such thing as coincidences with Heavenly Father.
IMG_1116.JPG
I LOVE PORTUGAL
Later on in the week, we got in contact with an Indian man we met the week before on the street, who is a Hindu but is really interested in learning more about who Jesus Christ is, and it was one of my favorite lessons yet. We started off with the basics and just started teaching about the Godhead, teaching very simply, and he said “Wow. Every time we talk about God or when I come into this church I feel so good.” After this we read a scripture in Galatians about the fruits of the spirit and explained to him that what he is feeling is the spirit, the Holy Ghost, he literally goes “Woah! I am feeling the spirit right now? A member of the Godhead?” He was so excited and all of this was so new to him. Then as we started talking about Jesus Christ his mouth just dropped and he said “Wow. I feel so good. I feel so different than I have ever felt before. Jesus Christ is incredible.” Throughout the entire lesson he was smiling from ear to ear and soaking up everything we were saying. It was absolutely incredible. The spirit was testifying to him over and over again the truth of the simple doctrine we were teaching. And at the end of the lesson he said “Can I come to your church every week? I love what I feel when I am here.” WHHAAATT?? Of course! He is seriously incredible. Yet another lesson to me about the power of Heavenly Father and especially the power of the spirit. Absolutely amazing. I am so grateful for the spirit. If it weren’t for the spirit, no one would be truly converted to this gospel. This is Heavenly Father´s work and I am so grateful to be a part of it.
 IMG_1189.JPG
Okay now I have to tell you a hilarious story that happened to me this week. Well actually this happens pretty much every day. So one of my favorite members here, Eduardo and his wife Celeste, had us over for dinner this week. And Eduardo talks a million miles a minute and has like 5 teeth and speaks with his mouth basically shut, so it is extremely hard to understand anything he is saying, ESPECIALLY when you don’t even know the language he is speaking (even my Brazilian companion can only understand 50 % of what he says) but I understand about 15%. So we are in the middle of dinner and he LOVES to call me out, pretty much everything he says he looks to me after and says “Isn’t that right, Sister?” So at one point in the conversation he turns just to me and starts saying “Sister, what am I saying to you right now?” and I honestly only understood “Sister” and “saying right now” and his tone of voice made it into a question so I think he said “Sister, do you know what I am saying right now?” so I respond… “Sim.” HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! The whole table busted out in laughter. This is basically my life every single day here in Portugal hahahaha. I love it.
IMG_1191
Italian gelato…..my life is complete!
Well friends, I must go. BUT I would like to leave you with a quote that Elder Bednar said in his talk “Becoming a Converted Missionary” and it is something I have been trying to live by as a missionary in Portugal. But I believe it applies to everyone in every situation, gospel related or not.
“They are willing to pay the price of repeated rejection for the hope of a single conversation. Whatever the world throws at them, they throw back a smile, because they know they have the gospel of Jesus Christ.” -Elder David A. Bednar
I hope you always remember that. We have a reason to smile because of Jesus Christ. There is no need to be sad or to fear. Because of Him, despair becomes hope. Because of Him, we have reason to smile. 🙂 I LOVE YOU ALL!! I love being a missionary. I love this work. I love my Savior, Jesus Christ. I love my Heavenly Father. I LOVE LIFE!
Have a great week!! Amo voces!!
Scripture of the week: Mosiah 2:21-23;41
Sister Keenan
MY PICTURES AREN’T WORKING SO NEXT WEEK YOU WILL GET DOUBLE HAHA
Leave a Reply

