SEMANA 9: ELDER HOLLAND… O QUE E ISSO??‏

Oi Familia e Amigos!! Como foi??

Alright, so basically this week was the best week ever because we found out that…. ELDER HOLLAND IS COMING TO SPEAK TO OUR MISSION. YES. YOU HEARD ME. ELDER JEFFERY R. HOLLAND FROM THE QUORUM OF THE TWELVE APOSTLES IS COMING TO SPEAK TO THE ARIZONA TEMPE MISSION. AHHH!!
IMG_0504
The beautiful sunset in Phoenix
But actually, this week was incredible. FULL of miracles. Remember Derek that I was telling y’all about last week? He is so amazing. We have lessons with him twice a week and this past lesson we were teaching and when the lesson was over I was going to close my scriptures and as I shut my scriptures he goes “WHAT?? NO! It’s already over??” HAHAHA! How stinkin adorable. He is just the best. He loves learning about the gospel and we love teaching him. I almost want him not to get baptized yet so that we can keep teaching him… Kidding. I am seriously so excited for him though. We took him to the visitors center and to walk the temple grounds and he was in heaven! He was soaking up every moment. Oh my gosh. We watched the Restoration movie and afterwards he said “The whole movie I just kept thinking… this HAS to be true. Joseph Smith wouldn’t have put himself or his family in this much pain if it wasn’t true.” He has it all right. This week I was reminded of just how much Joseph Smith went through to bring the Book of Mormon to this earth for US. And just how much Heavenly Father and Christ wanted us to have this book. I am so grateful for His sacrifice.
IMG_0533
Typical awkward missionary photo with a man  This is Derek and he is so awesome!!!

 

I am afraid I might come off as too positive or too optimistic in my emails. Don’t let me fool you, missionary work is HARD, even here in Tempe, AZ. BUT it is so rewarding. I have never felt so much happiness in my entire life. I have so much love for the people here and for the gospel that going through the hard times on a mission is so worth it. This isn’t a walk in the park, but I have grown so much in these past two months. Even in these past three weeks out in the field. Heavenly Father is constantly testing and stretching me. I LOVE IT.
IMG_0546
Sister Sodre and I
OH MY GOODNESS. One last story- this week we met Angie and she is FANTASTIC. She has been reading the Book of Mormon for a year and is on 3 Nephi but told herself she would not meet with missionaries until she was done reading. Well the week before we knocked on her door she felt very strongly that she was ready and that she needed to meet with missionaries even though she hadn’t finished. AND OH MY GOODNESS IS SHE READY. She is SO incredible and every single lesson the spirit is so strong. She cries and then I cry and then it’s a whole cycle. God is preparing people we just have to be willing to be his mouthpiece and his instrument and he will work through us.
IMG_0526.JPG
One of our adorable investigators, Rimma.  They take us out to lunch every single week to Sweet Tomatoes hahaha  The members fee us SO much!

 

Scripture of the week: Alma 26:16 Who can boast too much of Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ? They have done so much for me. I want everyone to know about them and the gospel of Jesus Christ because of what it has done for my life. I LOVE BEING A MISSIONARY. I cannot say it enough. It is the most incredible opportunity and privilege.
Quote of the week: Sister Sodre and I are just driving along and had just finished a conversation about one of our investigators and then after like 30 seconds of silence she goes “OH! I GET IT NOW!! BREAK-FAST! You are breaking your fast!!!” BAHAHAHA She is seriously HILARIOUS. I love her so much.
IMG_0493
SUPER STRONG ICEE….of course it only dyed my tongue red!
Have a great week! Thank you for all of your support!! Amo voces!!
Sister Keenan
Thank you for all of your support!!
IMG_0494
The majority of our pictures…..because we forget to take one until we are all ready for bed!  Hahaha! The life of a missionary!
Leave a Reply

