Week 5: ARIZONA HERE I COME!‏

Oi Familia e Amigos!

Can you believe it?? This is my last week at the MTC!!? I’m so excited to get out into the field but am also a little sad.. the MTC has been SO fun and I have learned more in these 5 weeks than I have in my 19 years of living.

IMG_0354
(This is my face when I realized I only have 1 week left at the MTC- half excited; half freaked out)
I HAVE NEWS!!! I have been temporarily re-assigned to…. THE ARIZONA TEMPE MISSION!!!!! AHHHHHHH!!!!! I’m comin for ya Kim! #Yumaforlife I think I will be serving in Arizona for about 6-12 weeks depending on how fast my Visa comes. I am SO excited! Obviously, I would love to go to Portugal right now, but I know i’m supposed to be in Arizona for a little bit!This is my new address in Arizona! Love y’all!!

This is my new address in Arizona! Love y’all!!

1871 E Del Rio Dr
1871 E Del Rio Dr
Tempe AZ 85282-2822
United States
This week in Sacrament meeting, Sister Dyer, Sister Mango and I sang “I’ll Go Where You Want Me to Go” for a special musical number and wow do those words have so much more meaning now. I know I was called to Portugal but the Lord needs me in Arizona first. “There’s surely somewhere a lowly place in earth’s harvest fields so wide. Where I may labor through life’s short day… I’ll go where you want me to go.” I trust the Lord and when I signed my acceptance letter to my call I agreed to go where He wants me to go. And right now that is Arizona so I could not be more excited!!!
IMG_0264
( Still in shock that we are missionaries)
This week was so cool! We skyped a member from Portugal and taught her a 30 minute lesson and HOLY MOLY I LOVE PORTUGUESE PEOPLE!!! Sister Dyer and I know our Portuguese is not perfect, especially only after 5 weeks but we were really nervous that we wouldn’t be able to understand her or she wouldn’t be able to understand us but the lesson was AWESOME!!! Nothing changed but we learned the power of smiling and laughing. It really makes a difference when you teach PEOPLE not lessons and that’s exactly what we did. Our conversational Portuguese is not the best but we tried so hard to get to know her and it made SUCH a difference. Afterwards when our teacher skyped her for feedback I guess she went on an on about how much she enjoyed talking to us and that she didn’t think we could improve ANYTHING. HA! We definitely could’ve improved on everything BUT because we were so interested in her and were so smiley it made a huge difference. Our Portuguese, especially grammar, was AWFUL but she didn’t care. It made me realize just how far kindness can go. The saying Kindness goes a long way is SO true. So always remember how powerful a smile, a laugh, and genuine kindness are.
Alright I am out of time, but I have SO much to say 😦 The Book of Mormon is incredible. You can apply any chapter to your life- I challenge you to pick a random chapter this week and try to apply it to your life. I promise it will apply. How incredible is that? What other book can do that? Only the true word of God. 2 Nephi 29:6-14 God is the same today and forever.
IMG_0317
(LOOK WHO IT IS- SISTER LOUGEE!!! a.k.a: Izzy, roommate from college)
This Sunday is Easter!! Remember to think of Christ and what He did for you ALWAYS. I know that Christ is our Savior and that He is ALWAYS there for us when we need Him. I know that He lives. I am forever grateful for His sacrifice for me.
I’ve attached the Church’s new Easter video below so that you can watch it sometime this week and remember that Christ lived and died and rose again. He is the Christ.
Te amo!
Com o amor,
Sister Keenan
Leave a Reply

