Week 3: Simplicity is Key!‏

Oi Familia e Amigos! Tudo bem?

It’s been another fantastic week at the MTC. I learn something new every single day. I am constantly stretching myself and growing.
This week was FIELD TRIP CENTRAL. We took 3 Field Trips- one to the BYU Police Office to get my fingerprints taken again so I could re-submit my whole visa application.. long story 2- to the BYU Health Center for Sister Dyer’s shoulder and 3- to the Physical therapist for sister Dyer’s shoulder. It was good to get out into the outside world again haha!
IMG_0195
This week, Sister Dyer and I felt like we finally got the hang of lessons. We realized that it was when we stopped caring about having a perfectly planned lesson and speaking perfect Portuguese that our lessons were successful- in essence, we decided to turn outwards, instead of inwards and care about the person we are teaching rather than how well we are doing teaching them. We didn’t worry about what we were going to say next. Instead, we would intently listen (as well as we could in Portuguese) and try to adjust the lesson to their needs, not caring if we had no idea how to say it in Portuguese. Missionary work is really simple it all boils down to this- LISTEN, LISTEN, LISTEN.
IMG_0237
With that said, we also learned another lesson- Sometimes we can do all we can, but others have their agency so they are not always going to except your message, no matter how powerful it is. Yes, EVEN if the Spirit is there… Story time! So Alexandre is our second investigator and he is SO hard to reach. When he first opened the door, he had this grumpy look on his face and we had to beg him to let us in… and the ENTIRE lesson his face stayed the EXACT same. We would ask Him question, after question about himself or his relationship with his family, etc and 95% of the time he would say “ehh.. sim” and look down. He was SO uninterested in everything we had to say.It was really getting me down. We were trying SO hard to get to know him and develop a relationship with Him but he would not let us in. It was the most frustrating hopeless thing. But finally, my companion and I decided to sing “I am a Child of God” in Portuguese and told him to pay close attention to the words and his feelings. And immediately after we started singing, he FINALLY looked up and smiled for the FIRST time in the lesson. It was that simple.That’s all He needed. The spirit was so strong and he looked genuinely happy. Two lessons were learned from that. 1- Not everyone is going to accept or even be interested in our message but we still have to do ALL we can to listen and invite the spirit 2- The power of simplicity. Music and simple truths.
Nothing funny enough to write about has happened this week besides me pulling a Marilyn Monroe and my dress flying up almost over my head.. But that shouldn’t surprise anyone- I don’t even get embarrassed anymore because things like that happen to me all the time.
IMG_0226
I LOVE THE MTC and LOVE the opportunity to be spiritually edified every single day. I love you all! And please forgive me if I don’t reply to your personal emails and letters right away- we only get an hour for email and only write letters back on P-days but I haven’t forgotten about you!
IMG_0088
Quote of the week: “You don’t have to be perfect or even great, you just need to keep moving forward and look upwards. (And do so with cheer)”
Scripture of the week: Deuteronomy 30:8
Have a great week!! Te amo!
Com amor,
Sister Keenan
Leave a Reply

