ROOMIES GOING TO EUROPE

Meet Izzy! She is my roommate at BYU and is such a great example to me. We both received our mission calls on the same exact day, October 10, 2015. And we both got called to Europe!! She is going to the Adriatic North Mission, in Eastern Europe and I will be going to Western Europe. Ironically, Europe is the last place we saw ourselves going, although secretly, I think it was our #1 desire. Haha!

I think either Heavenly Father really wanted us to receive our calls on the same day or he really wanted me to learn patience. I submitted my papers (or so I thought) 2 weeks before Izzy did. Unfortunately, due to a miscommunication, my papers were not actually submitted until about a week and a half AFTER I thought they were submitted, after I inquired about the status of my call to my Stake President at BYU.

So here I was, anxiously checking the mail every single day, multiple times a day, and each time, coming back disappointed that my mission call had not come. Little did I know that for a week and a half of me checking the mail daily, my Stake President had not even submitted my papers yet. Ha! Heavenly Father definitely has a sense of humor.

12087751_947595001953231_8188664056539428649_o

So now it has been about 3 and a half weeks after I thought I had submitted my papers (2 weeks of which my papers were actually submitted) and STILL NO CALL! I thought my world was ending. I had almost given up hope that it would ever come. Of course, I did not actually believe that, but my mind kept making up all of these weird and insane reasons that I would never receive a call. That is ALL I could think about, talk about, and dream about for 3 and a half weeks.

And then FINALLY on Saturday morning at about 9:30 am, I had both of my sisters over (my younger sister, Sydney, drove all the way down from Idaho to be there for my call opening and my older sister, Savannah, goes to BYU so she lives in Provo) and I peeked out the window to see the mailman putting mail in all of the mailboxes at Liberty Square. It took all of me not to rush out immediately and ask her if she had any mail for apartment 12. After about 15 minutes of *impatiently* waiting for her to finish putting mail in all of the mailboxes, I couldn’t handle it anymore, I rushed out and interrupted her process, reaching into my mailbox to find TWO MISSION CALLS- One addressed to Sister Madison Marie Keenan and the other addressed to Sister Isabelle Lougée. At this point, no one could stop me from screaming at the top of my lungs “IT’S HERE!!! IT’S HERE!!! IT FINALLY CAME!!!!!” over and over and over as I sprinted back to my apartment with my sisters.

12068760_1072963886047277_6844290993382083432_oI was so anxious I wanted to open it right then and there. But alas, I had to wait 6 agonizing hours to get everyone together so that I could finally open this long awaited call. And as you saw in the video of my last post, it was the most beautiful experience. I know that Porto, Portugal is where I am supposed to be for the next 18-months and I know that Heavenly Father has prepared people to hear from me, Sister Keenan, as a literal representation of His son and my Savior, Jesus Christ.

It has been such a great experience for me and Izzy to prepare for our missions together and to share insight with each other. We will  be entering the MTC a week apart from each other and I could not be more excited for this new adventure we are about to start!

One thought on “ROOMIES GOING TO EUROPE

  1. I can only imagine your excitement. May The Lord continue to bless and keep you as you serve Him with all your heart, might, mind and soul. Move you so much. Grandmama

    Like

Leave a Reply

